Philadelphia Hall of Fame Announces Class VI

The Philadelphia Sports Hall of Fame announced its 2009 class of inductees, which includes former Phillies shortstop and manager Larry Bowa; former Warriors star Neil Johnston; 1973 Heisman Trophy winner John Cappelletti of Penn State; former Los Angeles Dodgers manager Tommy Lasorda; and A's second baseman Eddie Collins.
Also, former Eagles tight end and general manager Pete Retzlaff; boxing champion JoeyGiardello; lacrosse Hall of FamerBetty Shellenberger; former Villanova track star Charlie Jenkins, who won two medals in the 1956 Olympics; track star Mel Sheppard, who won four medals in the Olympics in 1908 and 1912; Negro leagues baseball great Judy Johnson; NFL Hall of Fame safety Emlen Tunnell; and the 1974-75 Flyers, Stanley Cup champions.
Eagles broadcaster Merrill Reese and Daily News columnist Bill Conlin will receive the Legacy of Excellence Award.

[ Return to List ]
Press Releases
In the News
The Legend - Newsletter